Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: REFWORKS
Getting Started
Training Workshops
Important RefWorks Tools
Import Instructions

RefWorks FAQs


Other citation managers:

Zotero

EndNote


DELTA Eval

 

RefWorks FAQ

Additional information is available on the RefWorks web site.

What is RefWorks?
Why is it a good idea to use citation management software?
How do I create a new RefWorks account?
How does RefWorks compare with EndNote or Zotero?
Can I transfer references from EndNote to RefWorks?
How do I transfer references between different RefWorks accounts?
I'm working on a group project. Can you do collaborative work with RefWorks?
What happens when someone leaves the university or graduates - can they keep their account?
How does the Last Imported folder work?
Can you search the NCSU Libraries online catalog in conjunction with RefWorks?
Can I link to files on my hard drive through RefWorks?
I'm getting a request for a group code when I try to log into my account remotely. What's going on?
How does Write-N-Cite work? What about remote access to Write-N-Cite?
How can I use RefMobile?
Is there training available for RefWorks?
I have additional questions. Where can I get help?


Q: What is RefWorks?

RefWorks, like Zotero and EndNote, is citation management software. This is library jargon for: "software that you can use to save all your book and article references in one place." When you are doing research or looking for sources of information for a paper, you're looking through (possibly several) online databases, websites, and the Libraries' catalog. As you find books and articles of interest, you want to be able to save them. Citation management software lets you do that.


Q: Why is it a good idea to use citation management software?

There are numerous bad ways to save your research work: bookmarking web pages, printing or e-mailing every reference of interest, copying citations into a big Word or Excel file, or even handwritten notecards. All of these create a lot of extra work beyond just the research and writing. Citation managers are much more efficient, save everything in one place, help you organize your work, and generate bibliographies in a massive variety of styles.


Q: How do I create a new RefWorks account?

A: To create a new account in RefWorks, access RefWorks through the NCSU Libraries' web site. Don't go directly to refworks.com or you will not have access to our institutional subscription.

Then, below the question "New to RefWorks?", click on the link "Sign Up for an Individual Account" and fill out the required information in the form "New User Information for NCSU Libraries." The login information you select here is not related to Unity ID, so it can be the same as your Unity ID and password, or different.

Once you have created an account, you can in the future login directly from the main login screen with your Login Name and Password.


Q: How does RefWorks compare with EndNote or Zotero?

A: All three products have the same basic capabilities and functionality. They allow you to manage references, import citations from online databases, and incorporate references into Word documents. All require some time investment to learn to use effectively. Major differences:

  • RefWorks is web-based, EndNote is stand-alone software on one computer, and Zotero works as part of the Firefox browser. Because RefWorks is web-based, it is available from any networked computer.
  • RefWorks is free to NCSU users. Zotero is free for everyone. EndNote must be purchased by individual users.

See more comparisons here or here.

No choice is permanent! You don't have to pick one and live with it forever. It is straightforward to export citations from one product to another if you later decide there is a better option for you.


Q: Can I transfer references from EndNote to RefWorks?

A: Absolutely. For complete step-by-step instructions, see http://www.refworks.com/refworks/help/Frequently_Asked_Questions.htm#EndNote_import . When exporting from EndNote, use the RefMan (RIS) Export output style. In RefWorks, select Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software as your Import Filter and EndNote as your Database.


Q: How do I transfer references between different RefWorks accounts?

A: The process is straightforward. First, Export the references (References menu -> Export) in RefWorks Tagged Format. This will be a text file that can be saved on the desktop (it could be e-mailed as an attachment as needed). Then, Import this text file into the other RefWorks account (References menu -> Import).  The Import Filter/Data Source will be RefWorks Tagged Format.


Q: I'm working on a group project. Can you do collaborative work with RefWorks?

A: Yes. RefWorks does not limit the number of accounts you create. Also note that multiple users can access your account simultaneously.

Every account can have two types of access – full and read-only. Full access requires everyone to log in with the same login name and password. Read-only requries users to log in with the login name and a read-only password that has been established. Read-only access allows people to search, export and print bibliographies, but not add, edit or delete references. In addition, each record in a database has five empty fields (User Defined 1 thru 5) that can be used to record comments from group members.


Q: What happens when someone leaves the university or graduates - can they keep their folder of references?

A: Yes, with the purchase of an individual subscription (currently $100/year).


Q: How does the Last Imported folder work?

A: References are always imported into the Last Imported folder. References from the previous import are removed from the folder automatically (and put into the References Not in a Folder folder). When you have completed an import, you can open the Last Imported folder to edit or add descriptors to the group before organizing them into folders.


Q: Can you search the NCSU Libraries online catalog in conjunction with RefWorks?

A: Absolutely. Use the Search Online Catalog or Database command in RefWorks (from either the Search or Tools menu) to connect to the NCSU Libraries online catalog and import references directly into RefWorks.


Q: Can I link to files on my hard drive through RefWorks?

A: Yes. See the instructions at http://www.refworks.com/Refworks/help/Linking_References.htm.


Q: I'm getting a request for a group code when I try to log into my account remotely. What's going on?

A: A group code was included in the e-mail you receive from RefWorks upon creating your account. You can use this code for off-campus access, but it is not required if you access RefWorks via the NCSU Libraries' web site. From on campus, you only need your RefWorks ID and password. From off campus, you will be asked for your Unity ID and password (as you would with any subscription content like journals or databases), then your RefWorks ID and password.

If you are using Write-N-Cite in conjuction with Word, then you can load the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility - see the answer to the next question.

If this happens when you are logging into your regular RefWorks account, be sure you are accessing RefWorks through the NCSU Libraries' web site so you are prompted to log in through our proxy server. If you are behind a firewall, see http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/computing/proxy/firewalls.html . If problems continue, contact a librarian for further assistance.


Q: How does Write-N-Cite work? What about remote access to Write-N-Cite?

A: Write-N-Cite is a feature which allows you to access your references in RefWorks while working within Microsoft Word. Write-N-Cite allows you to insert citation placeholders and when you are ready to add a bibliography to the end of the document, Write-n-Cite will create a bibliography and properly format your in-text citations based upon only those references that have been inserted into your Word document.

To use Write-N-Cite with RefWorks you must download a small utility program to your computer.

Users accessing Write-N-Cite remotely may need to load the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility:

Windows Users:

1. From the Start menu on your computer select Programs and then RefWorks
2. Select the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility
3. Enter the following proxy server URL: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?server=www.refworks.com/refworks/?WNC=true
4. Click OK.

Mac Users:

1. Activate Write-N-Cite.
2. Select Preferences from the Write-N-Cite menu.
3. Enter the following proxy server URL: http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?server=https://www.refworks.com/RefWorks/?WNC=true
4. Restart Write-N-Cite for this proxy configuration to take effect.

After running the utility, when you launch Write-N-Cite you will be directed to the Libraries' proxy server to login rather than going directly to RefWorks. For information on logging into the proxy and accessing RefWorks from within the Libraries' web site, please contact your librarian.


Q: How can I use RefMobile?

A: RefMobile provides access to your RefWorks database via a mobile device. Help and documentation is available here.

RefMobile provides no method of NCSU authentication, so you need to know your group code. This information was included in the e-mail you got from RefWorks when you created your account. If you need to recover this code, contact the librarian listed at the bottom of this page.


Q: Is there training available for RefWorks?

A: See the RefWorks resource web page for links to help and campus workshops offered through DELTA. For additional information, contact the Ask a Librarian service of the Research and Information Services Department to discuss your training needs. Faculty may request an instruction session for their classes.


Q: I have additional questions. Where can I get help?

A: See the RefWorks resource web page for links to a number of excellent tip sheets, tutorials, and guides. For additional information and general assistance with RefWorks at any time (including evenings and weekends), contact the Ask a Librarian service of the Research and Information Services Department.


Librarian Contact Information


Warning: ldap_bind() [function.ldap-bind]: Unable to bind to server: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 6

Warning: ldap_search() [function.ldap-search]: Search: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 9

Warning: ldap_sort() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 10

Warning: ldap_get_entries(): supplied argument is not a valid ldap result resource in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 11
No results.
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University